The Community Foundation Welcomes New Chair, Trustees

Share this post:

JACKSONVILLE, Florida — The Board of Trustees of The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida is welcoming new leadership, as Michael DuBow begins a two-year term as chair, and John Hirabayashi, John Peyton, and Amy Wacaster begin three-year terms as new trustees. DuBow succeeds the Honorable Brian J. Davis, who completed his two-year term as chair on Dec. 31, 2023, and will continue his service to the board as the chair of the governance committee. Click here to see the full board.

Michael DuBow, a native of Jacksonville, currently manages a family investment portfolio and serves as President of the DuBow Family Foundation, overseeing all grantmaking initiatives. He has served on the board of The Community Foundation since 2014. Previously, he had an extensive career in the pharmaceutical industry as co-founder of HMS Sales and Marketing, a full-service company focused on generic prescription products in the US market. Michael has been involved in a wide array of non-profit initiatives and organizations. He previously served as President of the Jacksonville Jewish Center and as the Board Chair of the Wolfson Children’s Hospital.  Michael received his BSM from Tulane University and an MBA from the University of Florida. 

John Hirabayashi is retiring this year as the president and CEO of Community First Credit Union after leading it since 1996. Previously, Mr. Hirabayashi served as president and CEO at Cal State 9 Credit Union, CFO at Patelco Credit Union, and served in various positions at Pentagon Federal Credit Union. Mr. Hirabayashi has served on many community boards, including the Jacksonville Public Education Fund, the Cummer Museum of Art & Gardens, Florida State College at Jacksonville, the JAX Chamber, the Nonprofit Center of Northeast Florida, Jacksonville Community Council Inc., and WJCT Public Broadcasting. Mr. Hirabayashi received an MBA in finance from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University – Pamplin, a bachelor’s in finance from the University of Colorado at Boulder, and earned the Chartered Financial Analyst designation. He received the Jacksonville Business Journal’s Ultimate CEO award in 2011.

John Peyton was named President of GATE Petroleum Company in January 2012 after serving two consecutive terms as Mayor of Jacksonville, Florida. GATE was founded by Peyton’s father, Herbert Hill Peyton, in 1960 and has grown into one of the largest privately held companies in Florida. During his tenure as Mayor, he hosted the city’s first Super Bowl; implemented initiatives to advance early literacy, reduce crime and improve the health of the St. Johns River; and worked hand-in-hand with the city’s economic development arm and the Jacksonville Regional Chamber of Commerce to cultivate both domestic and international business. Peyton is an alumnus of Mercer University and Harvard Business School Executive Education Program. He has participated in The Community Foundation’s Weaver Philanthropic Initiative, Leadership Jacksonville and Leadership Florida. Actively involved in the community, Peyton served as chairman of the Jacksonville Transportation Authority, Jacksonville Symphony Association, Greenscape of Jacksonville and the JAX Chamber.

Amy Wacaster is a community leader and retired equity trader who chaired the Board of Trustees at Beaches Episcopal School prior to its merger with Episcopal School of Jacksonville (ESJ), and now serves on the executive committee of the board at Episcopal, her alma mater. She is the current co-chair of the Boldly ESJ capital campaign and was awarded Alumna of the Year in 2023. She also serves on the Board of Directors at Wolfson Children’s Hospital and on the Board of Visitors at Davidson College. Ms. Wacaster holds a bachelor’s in political science from Davidson College and an MBA from the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia. She spent her professional career working in finance in New York City, specifically Equity Trading at Merrill Lynch and Credit Suisse, before retiring to focus on raising her children in Ponte Vedra Beach, where she and her family relocated in 2013.

The new trustees will join Carol J. Alexander, Martha Frye Baker, Dr. Solomon G. Brotman, Judge Brian J. Davis, Michael DuBow, George M. Egan, Michael R. Meyers, Velma Monteiro-Tribble, Lauren Rueger, George E. “Buddy” Schulz Jr., Richard L. Sisisky, and Halsey Wise. Julia Taylor and Robert E. Hill completed their board service in 2023. For more information, go to

About The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida

The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida (, Florida’s oldest and one of its largest community foundations, works to stimulate philanthropy to build a better community. The Foundation helps donors invest their philanthropic gifts wisely, helps nonprofits serve the region effectively, and helps people come together to make the community a better place. Created in 1964, the Foundation has accepted more than $1 billion in gifts and has made more than $695 million in grants since inception.


Contact:       Stephanie Garry Garfunkel

VP, Strategic Communications

904-356-4483   |

Sign Up for Our Email Newsletter